Hurt by Tabitha Suzuma – REVIEW

This is my fourth book I have read for my Reading Challenge 2017. I will put the description first, just before I do the book review. Here we go.

Title     : Hurt
Author: Tabitha Suzuma
Pages   : 400
Published September 5th 2013 by Random House
Description:

At seventeen, Mathéo Walsh appears to have it all. He is a champion diver and a hot prospect for the upcoming Olympics. He is a heartthrob, a straight A student and lives in one of the wealthiest areas of London. He has great friends and is the envy of many around him. And most importantly of all, he is deeply in love with his girlfriend, Lola. He has always been a stable, well-adjusted guy . . .

Until one weekend. A weekend he cannot seem to remember. All he knows is that he has come back a changed person. One who no longer knows how to have fun, no longer wants to spend time with his friends, no longer enjoys diving. Something terrible happened that weekend – something violent and bloody and twisted. He no longer knows who he is. He no longer trusts himself around people: he only wants to hurt, wound and destroy. Slowly, he begins to piece back the buried, fragmented memories, and finds himself staring at the reflection of a monster.

Tormented, Mathéo suddenly finds himself faced with the most devastating choice of his life. Keep his secret, and put those closest to him in terrible danger. Or confess, and lose Lola forever . . .

Source: GoodReads

My review : 5/5 stars

This one is definitely my kind of story I read. It’s a Young Adult which the main character suffers from mental health. I was so sorry for spoiling a lot the story-line on my VERY first review and still am, so I will never do that again.

The story begins when “something-horrified” happening to Matheo on his national diving competition night. I love the way Tabitha tells the story, she puts what’s currently happening on the first chapter. So it made me wonder, what did exactly happen to Matheo? Why his room trashed or something? And I had to read the next chapter and the other one to find out the truth.

Well, when I opened up the second chapter and read it. I thought it’d be about the reason why Matheo did what he did. But nope, no at all. Tabitha brought me to when Matheo used to have a very beautiful life along with his girlfriend, Lola, his friends, and his family. It’s a throwback, but still worth it. A few chapters after that, Tabitha brought me back to present time. The “new” Matheo feels down and depressed. Firstly, his friend or even Lola don’t really know what happens to him because he just keeps his mouth shut. I bet, it’s such a very ‘disgusting’ thing to tell people. If I were him, I probably did the same as Matheo did. Yet, I’m so thankful it’s not me.

Through the interesting chapter, Tabitha writes about Matheo’s condition inside and out, phisically and emotionally. His changing to the ‘new’ him. Chapter ten, Matheo, finally, decides to tell Lola about what’s bugging him lately. The fear of losing Lola is the only reason to do it. I know it’s pretty painful when your long love life drift apart for some unknown apparent reason. Lola believes him and tries to help him to get better, but still, Matheo pushes Lola away.

It happens in a while untill Lola loses her patient. She forces Matheo to tell her who did it to him on that night. Everything goes so much worse from here. Lola takes her own life cause she finds the truth, leaving Matheo by himself. But in the end of the story, Matheo tries to get better for Lola who’s looking down at him, Matheo leaves diving world to attend a Uni of his dream.

Hopefully, I don’t spoil a lot this time. If you find the story interesting, you must check it out though.

4 thoughts on “Hurt by Tabitha Suzuma – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

