All The Rage by Courtney Summers – REVIEW

“I don’t believe in forgiveness. I think if you hurt someone, it becomes part of you both. Each of you just has to live with it and the person you hurt gets to decide if they want to give you the chance to do it again. If they do and you’re a good person, you won’t make the same mistakes. Just whole new ones.”
― Courtney Summers, All the Rage

Let’s read the blurb first before we move to my review. Below here, I took it from GoodReads.

Title: All The Rage
Author: Courtney Summers
GoodReads Rating: 3.85
Format: Paperback
Pages: 321
Published April 14th 2015 by St. Martin’s Griffin

The sheriff’s son, Kellan Turner, is not the golden boy everyone thinks he is, and Romy Grey knows that for a fact. Because no one wants to believe a girl from the wrong side of town, the truth about him has cost her everything—friends, family, and her community. Branded a liar and bullied relentlessly by a group of kids she used to hang out with, Romy’s only refuge is the diner where she works outside of town. No one knows her name or her past there; she can finally be anonymous. But when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing after a party, and news of him assaulting another girl in a town close by gets out, Romy must decide whether she wants to fight or carry the burden of knowing more girls could get hurt if she doesn’t speak up. Nobody believed her the first time—and they certainly won’t now — but the cost of her silence might be more than she can bear.

With a shocking conclusion and writing that will absolutely knock you out, All the Rage examines the shame and silence inflicted upon young women after an act of sexual violence, forcing us to ask ourselves: In a culture that refuses to protect its young girls, how can they survive?

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21853636-all-the-rage?ac=1&from_search=true

“But just because something starts out sweet doesn’t mean it won’t push itself so far past anything you could call sweet anymore. And if it all starts like this, how do you see what’s coming?”
― Courtney Summers, All the Rage

REVIEW:

My Rating: 4 STARS out of 5

This is my second sexual-abuse themed book I have read so far.
The first one I read from a boy’s POV and now the girl’s. I think this one is such a good book, I could put a picture of those victim’s emotional state. The one thing I dislike about the book is there are some words that I couldn’t put it on my head aka aren’t understandable, it might be my fault for willing to spend some time to read the book while having lots of work to do. But yeah, I don’t waste my whole time readin it cause I just love the ending. –

“Because maybe it would be better if we all got apologized to first. Maybe it would hurt less, expecting to be hurt.”
― Courtney Summers, All the Rage

ttd

2 thoughts on “All The Rage by Courtney Summers – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

