The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – REVIEW

“So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I’m still trying to figure out how that could be.”
― The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Title             : The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author        : Stephen Chbosky
GR Rating   : 4.21
Edition        : Paperback
Pages           : 231
Published August 30th 2012 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
Description:

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15950494-the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

“So, I guess we are who we are for alot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there. We can still do things. And we can try to feel okay about them.”
― The Perks of Being a Wallflower

MY REVIEW:

Rating: FIVE stars out of FIVE

Oh My God!!
That would be my very first impression after, finally, I got a chance to read it, considering it’s been so long the book had been sitting on top of my Im-Dying-To-Read-This-Book list. And, damn, I got the chance for it now. I’m so grateful for that.

Honestly, the book was so perfect. Charlie, duh, is the most innocent geek I’ve ever meet in a book. I was feeling bad for you Charlie the whole time I read your diary/journal. Sometimes, I saw myself in Charlie, like he likes a girl but the girl’s unfortunately having a boyfie. Just like me when I was in high school. I used to have a crush on my classmate, yet sadly he got a girlfriend or crushed on another girl. 😦

I kept hearing Logan Lerman and Emma Watson (the ones who played Charlie and Sam in the movie) the whole time. Logan and Emma just fitted perfectly to play those characters. ughhh!! And Patrick though, the most closeted gay guy I’ve ever seen. Yet he’s so cute in the book.

Other than that I love how Stephen used a diary kinda story. It made realer than any books I’ve ever read before. It’s very understandable as well. So, the conclusion is I massive highly recommend it for you guys to read. Find out yourself what happens to Charlie and the rest of ‘his’ friends.

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”
― The Perks of Being a Wallflower

ttd

7 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – REVIEW

Leave a Reply

